Join us for the Memorial Mass for Deacon David Kasprzyk and Deacon George Keller

WHEN: Tuesday, Oct. 19 at 4:30 pm

WHERE: Cathedral of Mary of the Assumption, 615 Hoyt Ave., Saginaw

All are invited to gather for a special Mass in memory of two permanent deacons who passed away during this past year: Deacon David Kasprzyk and Deacon George Keller. Bishop Robert Gruss will celebrate this Memorial Mass as part of the annual Permanent Deacon Jubilee. Due in part to the Covid-19 pandemic, this will be the first public Mass in the Diocese of Saginaw in memory of these two deacons.

Deacon Kasprzyk, who passed away on June 23, 2021, is survived by his wife, Loretta, and their two daughters. He was ordained to the permanent diaconate in the Diocese of Saginaw on July 12, 1981. He relocated in 1985 and served in four different parishes throughout Muskegon County.

Deacon Keller died on November 25, 2020 and is survived by his daughter. He was ordained a permanent deacon for the Diocese of Saginaw on June 2, 1977.

Please note: There will be a dinner for this year's Permanent Deacon jubilarians following the Mass, which is "by invitation only." The six jubilarians are:

Deacon Larry Fussman – 45 years (Most Sacred Heart of Jesus Parish, Mt. Pleasant)

Deacon Al Oliver – 15 years (St. Brigid of Kildare Parish, Midland)

Deacon Jim Damitio – 10 years (Most Sacred Heart of Jesus Parish, Mt. Pleasant)

Deacon Stanley Kuczynski – 10 years (Our Lady of Czestochowa Parish, Bay City)

Deacon Gary Patelski – 10 years (Cathedral of St. Mary of the Assumption Parish, Saginaw)

Deacon Mike Smith – 10 years (St. Joseph the Worker Parish, Beal City)

The diocesan Permanent Deacon Formation Program prepares men to serve as permanent deacons to carry out ministry in three main areas: charitable works, evangelization and liturgy.  To learn more, please click here.