Catholic Social Teaching

Human life is sacred and the dignity of the human person is the foundation of a moral vision for society.

The Church’s social teaching is based on, and is inseparable from, our understanding of human life and dignity. Founded on the life and words of Jesus Christ, Catholic Social Teaching helps us recognize our responsibility to those in need and arises from our experiences of Christ in the Eucharist.

Seven Themes of Catholic Social Teaching

The Seven Principles of Catholic Social Teaching:

Life and Dignity of the Human Person

Call to Family, Community and Participation

Rights and Responsibilities

Option for the Poor and Vulnerable

The Dignity of Work and the Rights of Workers


Care for God’s Creation

Additional Resources

Where to Find The Seven Key Themes of Catholic Social Teaching in the Catechism of the Catholic Church

Catholic Social Teaching Documents